Victorian Museum Awards 2019

Victorian Museum Awards 2019

Now in their 26th year, the Victorian Museum Awards celebrate the wonderful achievements of the Victorian museum and gallery sector. The 2019 Awards ceremony was held on Wednesday 26 June at the National Gallery of Victoria and includes presentations from special guests. 

> View 2019 Award Winners  

Objectives of the Victorian Museum Awards

The Victorian Museum Awards recognise outstanding achievements and service in the museum, gallery, and collecting sector. This prestigious event celebrates organisations and individuals whose passion and work build a strong Victorian museum and gallery industry. The objectives of the Victorian Museum Awards are to:

  1. Raise awareness of museums as effective vehicles for engagement with ideas and communities.
  2. Reward and encourage best practice by individuals and organisations.
  3. Celebrate the value of museums to local and wider community groups.

2019 Awards Categories

Individual Categories

  • The AMaGA (Victoria) Award for Excellence (Volunteer)
  • The AMaGA (Victoria) Award for Excellence (Paid Staff)

Individual category winners receive the following prizes valued at over $400:

Organisation Categories

  • The Archival Survival Award for Volunteer-Run Museums (up to 1 EFT paid staff)
    Prize: Archival Survival supplies valued at $1,000
  • The Archival Survival Award for Small Museums (2-7 Paid Staff)
    Prize: Archival Survival supplies valued at $1,000
  • The AMaGA (Victoria) Award for Medium Museums (8-50 Paid Staff)
  • The AMaGA (Victoria) Award for Large Museums (51+ Paid Staff)

Victorian Collections Awards for Excellence in Museum Cataloguing

These Awards acknowledge the hard work undertaken by organisations that are cataloguing their collections online using Victorian Collections, and are judged on the number of artefacts catalogued, the proportion of items catalogued with accompanying photos, the quality of the records, the depth of historical research involved, and the percentage of records made public. There are three Victorian Collections Awards:

  • Victorian Collections Award for Excellence in Museum Cataloguing (Volunteer-Run Organisations)
    Prize: Brightsign player valued at $2,000 from Mal Padgett Design, provided with three days of professional on-site assistance.
  • Victorian Collections Award for Excellence in Museum Cataloguing (Organisations with Paid Staff)
  • Victorian Collections Award for Excellence in Museum Cataloguing (War Heritage Collection)


Photo: Lawrence Leung, MC at the Victorian Museum Awards 2019, NGV International. Photo by Simon Fox, Deakin University.


2019 Victorian Museum Awards Sponsors and Supporters


Creative Victoria Logo
AMaGA Victoria respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land on which we work, the Boon Wurrung and Woi Wurrung peoples and honour their Ancestors, Elders and next generations of community and pays respect to the Elders of all the Nations of Victoria, past, present and emerging.