Jun 26, 2019

2019 Victorian Museum Awards Winners Announced

 Norma Grubb OAM Award for Excellence Volunteer

The 2019 Victorian Museum Awards were presented on Wednesday 26 June at NGV International. The night was hosted by Lawrence Leung, multi award-winning Melbourne comedian, actor and screenwriter. Including a special address by Harriet Shing MP, Parliamentary Secretary for the Creative Industries.

The Awards, now in their 26th year, are held annually to highlight outstanding achievements in the Victorian museum, gallery, and collecting sector. This year one individual and six organisations were recognised with Victorian Museum awards. 

AMaGA Victoria Individual Award for Excellence (Volunteer)
Winner: Mrs Norma Grubb, O.A.M: Benalla Historical Society

Roslyn Lawry Award for excellence in Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies 
Winner: Amy MacKintosh

Archival Survival Award for Volunteer-Run Museums
Winner: Friends of J Ward
Highly Commended: Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History

Archival Survival Award for Small Museums
Winner: City Gallery for Emblazon: Melbourne’s coat of arms

Museums Australia (Victoria) Award for Medium Museums
Winner: Immigration Museum for LOVE exhibition.

Victorian Collections Award for Excellence in Museum Cataloguing
(Volunteer-Run Organisations)
Winner: Greensborough Historical Society
Highly Commended: Kew Historical Society

Victorian Collections Award for Excellence in Museum Cataloguing
(Organisations with Paid Staff)
Winner: Uniting Church Archives – Synod of Victoria
Highly Commended: Mission to Seafarers Victoria

Victorian Collections Award for War Heritage Collections
(Paid or Volunteer)
Winner: Melbourne Legacy
Highly Commended: Montmorency-Eltham RSL Sub-Branch

Newly Accredited MAP Museums
B24 Liberator Memorial Australia
The Johnston Collection
Mary MacKillop Museum

> Read full Media Release 

> Go to the award winners 2019 page

Image: Greg Hunter, Collections Registrar, National Sports Museum presents the Award for Excellence (Volunteer) to Mrs Norma Grubb O.A.M, Benalla Historical Society. Photo: Simon Fox, Deakin University.