Sep 28, 2022

2022 Victorian Museums and Galleries Awards Winners Announced

The 2022 Victorian Museums and Galleries Awards presentation was held on Tuesday 4 October at State Library Victoria by AMaGA Victoria.The night was hosted by Bernard Caleo, including a special online address by Steve Dimopoulos MP, Minister for Creative Industries.

The Awards, now in their 29th year, are conducted annually to highlight outstanding achievements in the Victorian museum, gallery, and collecting sector. This special event raises awareness of museums and galleries as effective vehicles for engaging ideas and communities, rewards and encourages best practice by individuals and organisations, and recognises the value of museums and galleries within the community.


AMaGA Victoria Award for Excellence (volunteer)
Mick Bourke, Trafalgar Holden Museum

Highly commended: Helen Hill, Volunteer Guide, ACMI


AMaGA Victoria Award for Excellence (paid staff)
Jayne Josem, CEO, Melbourne Holocaust Museum

Highly commended: Ashleigh Giffney, Collections Manager, Beechworth Burke Museum


AMaGA Victoria Lifetime Achievement Award
Warren Doubleday, Ballarat Tramway Museum, Inc.


Martin Hallett Award for individual contribution to community heritage
Kerry Landman, Head Volunteer, Research and Collections, Robin Boyd Foundation


The Archival Survival Award for volunteer-run Organisation
Yarra Ranges Heritage Network, Power and the People: 150 Years of Local Government exhibition.


The Archival Survival Award for Small Organisations
Golden Dragon Museum, Loong Conservation Project


Highly commended: Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History (Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists), Djeembana Whakaora: First Nations medicine, health and healing exhibition.

Highly commended: Beechworth Burke Museum, People of Beechworth exhibition


The AMaGA Victoria Award for Medium Organisations
The Shrine of Remembrance, 'Lust, Love, Loss: Australian stories of wartime relationships’ special exhibition.

Highly commended: Jewish Museum of Australia, MIRKA exhibition.


The AMaGA Victoria Award for Large Organisations
Museums Victoria - Safe Management of Hazardous Substances at Museums Victoria

Highly commended: Scienceworks, Museums Victoria for their Illuminate: How Science Comes To Light exhibition. 


Roslyn Lawry Award for excellence in Cultural Heritage and Museum Studies 
Winner:  Maddi Moore


Victorian Collections Award for Excellence in museum cataloguing (volunteer-run organisations)
Winner: Kew Historical Society
Highly Commended: Eltham District Historical Society


Victorian Collections Award for Excellence in museum cataloguing
(organisations with paid staff)
Winner: The Beechworth Burke Museum
Highly Commended: Uniting Church Archives – Synod of Victoria


Victorian Collections Award for war heritage collections
Melbourne Legacy
Highly Commended: Bendigo Military Museum


Victorian Collections Award for gallery and civic art collection
Federation University Australia Art Collection 
Highly Commended: Ararat Gallery TAMA (Textile Art Museum Australia)


Reaccredited MAP (Museum Accreditation Program) Museums
Australian Racing Museum
Geoffrey Kaye Museum of Anaesthetic History

Reaccredited CMAP (Community Museum Accreditation Program) Museums
Whitehorse Historical Society

> Read full Media Release 

> Go to the Award Winners 2022 page

Image: The Archival Survival Award for Small Organisations winner 2022 Golden Dragon Museum, Angela Henricksen, Archival Survival presenting award to Doug Lougoon, Chair, Golden Dragon Museum and Megan Hall, Collections Manager, Golden Dragon Museum. Simon Peter Fox Photography